REVIEW // Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Foundation

Hello hello!

Now, I actually wanted to post this so long ago but last week was exam week, so yeah. But never mind, this will make up to the lateness. HEH. So few weeks ago, I showed my haul and I mentioned that I’ve been wanting to try the Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua foundation for so long. I actually went to Chanel Makeup Studio Counter in Parkson Pavilion few weeks before I finally bought it, I asked for a sample but they only have samples of foundations in the shade B 20 only, which was 1 shade lighter than my skin tone. But I just wanted to try it and see how it reacts on me and how it feels so I just went for it and tried it. So after much consideration, I finally take the plunge and get it.

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua – Picture Courtesy of Chanel.com


 

What They Say :

♥ A new-generation texture. An unprecedented sensory experience. A unique makeup result. Rapid and easy application. VITALUMIÈRE AQUA. Apply your makeup without thinking about it.

♥ Its soft and evanescent ultra-fine fluid texture is a real surprise. Although it is exceptionally delicate and light, an incomparable “second-skin” perfecting result is achieved. The complexion appears amazingly even, fresh and energized. The skin glows with seemingly nude beauty. As if glowing from within. Bathed in light.

♥ Its formula, endowed with a UVB sun filter and mineral sunscreen, protects the skin from damaging sun rays (SPF 15). Its crystalline fragrance accentuates the sensation of freshness and pleasure on application.

♥ Shake the bottle well before use to bring out the sensorial qualities of the texture.
Dab on from the center of the face outwards.


What I Say :

♥ It feels good on my skin so far, no break outs, no redness. It does give a result of ‘second-skin feel’ because the texture of the foundation is so lightweight that you would probably feel like you’re not wearing any foundations at all.

♥ It gives a fresh looking skin, dewy finish that makes you look awake and energized! No joke. I love wearing this foundation for my every day look as it feels very lightweight and it has (a bit of) SPF too, which is good for me because I don’t really use separate sunscreen in my skin care regime.

♥ However, you really need to shake the cr** out of it as the formula tends to separate in the bottle. Many people tend to shake it vigorously until they hear the ball inside rattling, but actually you’re doing it wrong. I saw in Youtube, a Chanel beauty advisor explains that you should actually shake it without hearing the ball rattling. Here I’ll show you his video, you can skip it to 3:04 where he explains about the Vitalumiere Aqua.

♥ The foundation does oxidizes after a few minutes on my hand because I tend to pour it out on the back of my hand first before applying it to my face and in the picture below, you might see it also oxidizes (just a tiny bit) on my face and VA is more on the warmer side with a slight yellow-orangey tone to it.

♥ The foundation isn’t very long-lasting but I don’t mind because normally I would only use it to College for a max 5 hours or so and I’ll be removing it as soon as I got back home. For days when I go out for a long time, I’d use my Dior Star foundation.

♥ The texture of the foundation is a bit liquid-y as it tends to run a bit when I poured it out on my hand. It has a light to medium coverage so if you have a good skin then good for you as this foundation doesn’t cover much imperfections and it is quite buildable. In this review, I did layer it 2 times just to see how it builds. And it didn’t feel cakey at all.

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua B30

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua B30

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua B30

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua B30

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua B30 with Real Techniques Perfecting Foundation Brush

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua B30 with Real Techniques Pointed Foundation Brush

Bare Faced

Bare Faced

1 Layers of Vitalumiere Aqua

1 Layers of Vitalumiere Aqua

2 Layers of Vitalumiere Aqua with Concealer & Setting Powder

2 Layers of Vitalumiere Aqua with Concealer & Setting Powder

Full Face of Make Up

Full Face of Make Up

Full Face of Make Up

Full Face of Make Up

Full Face of Make Up

Full Face of Make Up

Products I Used :

♦ Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua in Beige 30

♦ Real Techniques Pointed Foundation Brush (This brush has a small head so you do need a lot of time to apply it, feel free to use any brush you have)

♦ Zoeva Concealer Palette

♦ Dior Diorskin Forever Extreme Control Compact Powder in 30 Medium Beige

♦ Guerlain Météorites Perles D’Étoile

♦ NARS Laguna Bronzer

♦ Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal

♦ Dior Show Brow Styler in 001 Universal Brown

♦ Guerlain Cils D’Enfer Maxi Lash Waterproof Mascara

♦ Chanel Rouge Allure gloss in 16 Extase


 

Swatches in comparison with Dior Skin Star (21 Linen) and NARS Sheer Glow (Light 5 Fiji)

Swatches of Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua (Beige 30) -  Dior Skin Star (21 Linen) – NARS Sheer Glow (Light 5 Fiji)

Swatches of Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua (Beige 30) – Dior Skin Star (21 Linen) – NARS Sheer Glow (Light 5 Fiji)

♥ Chanel VA leans on the yellow side together with Dior Star

♥ A good match on my skin

♥ It does oxidizes after awhile


Likes :

♥ Simple and sleek packaging, good size for travelling

♥ It comes in a squeeze bottle

♥ Good texture, not too runny, not too thick

♥ It evens out my skin tone really well


Dislikes :

♥ It oxidizes so better to try it out and see if it matches when it oxidizes

♥ Need to shake the bottle vigorously in order to get the texture right


Other Info :

♥ Price : Rm 160

♥ Availability : All Chanel Counters in Parkson, Isetan, Robinsons and Metrojaya


xox ♥

Logo

 

4 thoughts on “REVIEW // Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Foundation

  1. Hi there! 😉
    I’ve almost finished the Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua and now I would like to try the Dior Skin Star 😀 For the Vitalumiere I bought the shade 20. But for the Dior one have I to buy the shade 10 or 20? I think that the 10 is too fair for me… I mean, I’m fair but not that much 😄 I am so doubtful about it. What would you suggest me to do? Thank you very much, I really liked your review! 😉

    Like

Say hello! ... or something!

