REVIEW // Colourpop Lippie Stix

Hello hello! So you might have known the brand “Colourpop Cosmetics” by now if you watch Youtube Beauty Gurus’ videos (i.e Jaclyn Hill, Kathleen Lights, Nicole Guerriero, Shaaaanxo, etc). They have been given PR samples by the brand to try and promote it on Youtube or buy it themselves. Then the hype starts. Like, y’know how it works… When Jaclyn Hill raves about some product, YOU GET THAT PRODUCT. LOL. But seriously tho, when Youtube Beauty Gurus raves about some products, that particular product will immediately become out of stock or hard to get. Trust me, I made few purchases just because Jaclyn Hill swears by that product (I’m looking at you Becca Opal, Le Blanc De Chanel Base, Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk!).

So, who is Colourpop and what is lippie stix? A little background information, Colourpop Cosmetics is an indie cosmetic company that are based in Los Angeles, California (USA). They started by doing Eyeshadows, Lipsticks (Lippie Stix & Lippie Pencil), Blushers and Highlighters that just launched recently. Meanwhile, Lippie Stix are basically a twist up lipstick with a smaller bullets(that some say are 1/3 of the standard lipstick size) the packaging, which looks like pens, makes it easier to apply and to travel with.

The lippie stixs are colour coded at the end of the packaging with a little sticker on it indicating the product shade and finishing. Colourpop lippie stix has 6 different finishings : Satin, Cream, Glossy, Hyper Glossy, Matte and Pearlized. And most of them has their own lippie pencil to pair it with as some shades tends to ‘bleed’ so it’s recommended to first line the lips using the lippie pencils then only top it off with the lippie stix.

They also have a wide range of colors, from reds to pinks, corals to violets and also nudes to darks! The packaging is pretty simple and straightforward. The box is just in plain white color with a pattern and inside the box, there’s only the lippie stix and a leaflet on the item’s ingredients. They indicate the shades also by stickers.

The application is quite smooth for the satin finish, while the matte ones can be a little ‘draggy’ if there’s such word. It’s important that you scrub and moisturize your lips before applying these lippie stix as they’re quite unforgiving on dry lips. Also, the lippie stix bullet may break if you’re not careful when applying it as it is quite soft compared to other lipsticks in the market. My Lumiere lippie stix broke the first time when I glide it on my lips. As a result, I had to put it back together using a lighter and it became soooo ugly but still usable.

The pigmentation is not bad actually. When I remove the swatches on my hand, I still can see traces of the colors on my arm. Maybe it’ll be a different story when applied on the lips. I have yet to use and examine the longevity of this lippie stix, but when I do, I’ll update it here.

I am currently obsessing over these lippie stix!!! Just can’t get enough of them basically. As you can see in my swatches, to date, I have 12 pcs of lippie stix! And I’m still waiting for another 4 pcs to arrive! You can officially list me as a Colourpop addict. I got them from a few Instagram seller. Normally I’d only get it when it’s listed as ready stock cos I hate, hate waiting with pre-orders! It took like a month for the items to reach here and all. Of course when it’s ready stock the price is more expensive compared to pre-order price.

IMG_3243 IMG_3244 IMG_3245 IMG_3246 IMG_3247

Shades :

Bichette ♥ Deep red wine in a matte finish.

Bossy ♥ Classic blue red in a matte finish.

Button ♥ Pale creamy peach nude in a satin finish.

Clique ♥ Vivid true orange red in a matte finish.

Fetch ♥ Perfect mid- tone warm true pink in a satin finish.

Frenchie ♥ Bright warm neon red in a matte finish.

Frida ♥ A warm mid tone nude pink with a satin finish

Gossip ♥ mid- tone blue pink in a satin finish

Heart On ♥ bright cool toned magenta in a matte finish

I  this ♥ Red based fuchsia in a matte finish.

LBB ♥ Rich plum wine in a matte finish

Lumiere ♥ A dusty mauve pink in a matte finish

My (current) Colourpop Lippie Stix Collection

My (current) Colourpop Lippie Stix Collection

Colourpop Lippie Stix Swatches

Colourpop Lippie Stix Swatches


Likes : 

♠ Travel-friendly packaging

♠ Easy application

♠ Offers wide range of colors and finishes

♠ Cheap (!!!)

♠ Has a matching lip pencil to go with the lippie stix to prevent the lipstick from ‘bleeding’ (I have yet to get any)


Dislikes :

♣ Has a strong (vanilla) scent to it

♣ Soft bullet

♣ Plain & boring packaging


The Verdict :

Packaging

★ ★ ★

Pigmentation

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Longevity

★ ★ ★ ★

Overall

★ ★ ★ ★


Other Info :

◊ Price : $ 5 / RM 25 – 30 (depends on currency & availability – pre-orders are mostly cheaper than ready stock items)

◊ Availability : colourpop.com (but I got mine from various online instagram shop in Malaysia, namely a.m.a.z.inc, fabcosmeticnyx, lebeautycrime, and red.vanity)

◊ Status : Permanent


xox ♥

Logo

4 thoughts on “REVIEW // Colourpop Lippie Stix

  1. Wow that’s quite a haul! I’ve been looking everywhere for a few colorpop sellers in Malaysia because I wanna try there eye shadows and lippie sticks. can you name a few reliable Instagram resellers? I don’t wanna get cheated haha.

    Like

Say hello! ... or something!

