BEAUTY 101 // Makeup Primer :: Flawless Face Essential ?

Hello Hello

DISCLAIMER : This is my personal opinion and from what I understand about makeup. May not be 100% correct. I am merely sharing information.

I wanted to write a new topic here on my blog. Just because I thought some of you who are reading this are new to makeup or doesn’t wear much makeup but wonders how to properly doll up yourself. I’m not gonna talk about skincare because different people has different skincare regime, so you do you, whatever suits your skin.

Now, Let’s talk about primer. Do you prime your face prior to applying makeup? Or do you just slap it on right after your skincare? Is primer that important? Do you really need a primer to get a flawless makeup? But wait, what is a primer, you say? Well let me explain to you, my friend. A make up primer is a base for your foundation or better yet, a base for your makeup. Primer helps your makeup to last longer and make your makeup application goes on more smoothly. It acts as a barrier between your skin and your makeup. It also helps to prevent breakouts that sometimes a makeup ingredient can do to your skin. For example, some people I know complains that certain products gave them breakouts (redness, acne, etc) and asked me what products is best for them that doesn’t make their skin breakout. I’d normally say it’s not about which products to use, it’s about how you tackle the problem. I’d told them that maybe you should use primer (if you haven’t) that suits to your skin type in order to prevent breakouts. Why? Well the primer as I said before, it acts like a barrier, so your makeup lays on top of the primer instead of directly seeping into your pores, which normally can cause breakouts.

The answer for questions above may be subjective. But for me, I do prime my face before applying makeup ever since I discovered that my makeup tends to settle into my pores and give me acne or when the makeup breaks around my nostrils and chin area. It does give me a more flawless makeup application as my foundation goes on more smooth when I prime my face. It doesn’t necessarily make my makeup lasts longer because if I do want my makeup to lasts longer, I’d use setting spray for that purpose. So for me, primer only helps me to get a more flawless application.

While moisturizer only gives your skin the hydration it needs, primer on the other hand, prepares your facial skin for makeup application, giving it something to hold on to so your makeup will not slip and slide throughout the day. Primer is not only can they be used on your face, there are also primer for your eyelids. It will help to prevent your eye makeup from creasing. Also there are primers for your lashes and lips.

There are many types of makeup primers on the market with different formulas. Primers are usually available in liquid, cream, mineral and gel form. They also have many types of formulation and ingredients. There are water-based primers (+aqua), oil-based primers (oil) but many primers are silicone-based (+dimethicone or anything ends with +cone). For people with oily skin, I suggest you to try oil-free silicone-based primer, as it tends to fill in your pores and helps to keep oil at bay. For dry skin people, water-based primer are your best bet but it may be hard to find one as most makeup companies make silicone-based primers. But you can tweak it by using any primer you like and combining it with a hydrating facial mist.

There are also tinted primers in the market. Green primers help to correct redness on the skin; Purple primers can help even out yellow undertones and make the skin appear healthier; Blue primers to add radiance to pale skin. They can also be used to correct the orange discoloration of skin that often occurs in people with fair skin; Bronze / caramel primers can help to add more radiance and glow to fair, medium and dark skin tones; Yellow primers help to lighten complexions such as dark circles underneath the eyes and pink primers can eliminate yellow tones and brighten your skin.

Different types of primers gives different benefits for your skin. Makeup primers also helps to fill in large pores, smooth any fine lines, softens the skin, make your makeup goes on a lot smoother, help to color-correct any redness that you may have on your face, correct uneven skin tones, reduce oil/shine, and prevent foundations from oxidizing.

It is best to apply primers using your fingers like how you normally would apply your moisturizer as it helps to massage the primer and let it be absorbed by your skin. I, too, apply primers using my fingers as I can reach the nooks and crannies of my face. I will let the primer sink into my skin for about 3-5 minutes then only I will apply my foundation, concealer etc.

You can also use primers on lazy days where you don’t want to put on any makeup. If you have oily skin and you just don’t want to blot your face the whole day, then maybe you should just put on a mattifying primer like the Benefit Porefessional or its dupe, the Maybelline Baby Skin Pore Eraser to keep your face matte and oil-free. If you have dry and dull skin like me, I’d normally put on a hydrating primer like the Make Up For Ever Step 1 Hydrating Primer, MAC Fix+ or Chanel’s Multi Use Illuminating Primer to give radiance and also hydrates my skin on lazy days.

Lastly, to help you find primer that may suits to your skin type and needs, I’ve compiled few items here which are few of my favorite picks ::

primer for dry skin

primer for oily skin

color correct

I hope this information will somehow help you and if you have any questions, do leave me a comment down below and I’ll try my best to help you!


xox ♥

Logo

Say hello! ... or something!

