REVIEW // LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss

Hello hello!

Makeup trend nowadays are all about liquid lipsticks that dries matte. So many cosmetics companies are making this product, be it from high-end brands such as Anastasia Beverly Hills, Too Faced and Kat Von D to drugstore brands like Rimmel, LA Girl and Colourpop. The idea of liquid lipsticks basically just, well, lipstick formula liquified. Most of the liquid lipsticks out there have matte finishes just because matte formulas lasts longer throughout the day so less touch-ups are needed, however there are also metallic and satin finishes like the Melted Lipsticks from Too Faced.

But today, I’m gonna be talking about drugstore brand everyone in Instagram have been raving about, LA Girl. This brand was famed for their HD Concealer which some claims a dupe for MAC’s Pro Longwear Concealer. I’ve zero ideas why they put the word ‘matte’ and ‘gloss’ in one sentence, coz to me it doesn’t sound logical. How could you be a lip ‘gloss’ when you have a matte finish? Someone enlighten me that their definition of lip gloss might be that it glides on smoothly on the lips. Oh well then that does makes a little bit more sense. Carry on.

I got them few days ago from an Instagram seller (@aliceandcloud). At first I didn’t wanna get it but then I started looking for lip swatches and saw that they have quite a wide array of lipstick shades and the reviews were not bad at all. So I just take it and I got 5 shades out of the 16 shades they have.

The packaging I’d say it’s decent for the price tag. It’s a twist-out tube that comes with a doe-foot applicator that is long and rounded at the tip so it’s easy to apply at the edges. The applicator picks up just the right amount of product but I like to scrap it on the side just to get a sheer application first and then build the intensity from there.

Here are the swatches :

1. Playful 

It looks very barbie-pink on me. Don’t really fancy this color and plus, it applies very streaky. Might gonna sell it though as it’s not my kinda color.

LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss - Playful

LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss – Playful

2. Bazaar 

What can I say? It’s a pretty MLBB color for me so I love it! It’s quite pigmented too and not streaky at all.

LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss - Bazaar

LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss – Bazaar

3. Obsess

This one I ADORE! It’s that ‘safe for work’ kinda red. Has a slight pink to it but still looks nice and red. Reminds me of that pink coral lips perfect for summer.

LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss - Obsess

LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss – Obsess

4. Instinct

Warm toned red that instantly brightens up your complexion. No other way to describe it other than the word “HOT” and “SEXY”. lol

LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss - Instinct

LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss – Instinct

5. Rebel

Most people claims that it’s a dupe for ABH’s Craft liquid lipstick. I’d say, nowhere near it unless you wear nude lipliner underneath. But on my bare lips, it looks like a very pretty warm purple.

LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss - Rebel

LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss – Rebel

** ALL SWATCHED ON BARE LIPS WITHOUT ANY LIP LINERS / LIP BASE **

LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss

LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss



I also swatched it on my hand when I first got them,

LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss

LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss


Likes : 

♠ Has a doefoot applicator for easy application

♠ Picks up the right amount of product

♠ Offers wide range of colors

♠ Cheap (!!!)

♠ Stays all day

♠ Smugde-proof and kiss-proof once it has dry matte

♠ Easy to remove using oil-based makeup remover (I used Sephora’s)


Dislikes :

♣ Has a subtle scent (can’t tell what kind of scent it was)

♣ Some shades tends to be streaky (playful)

♣ Deceiving packaging, the tube is fat but the actual product is not as much you would think it is. (5 Grams of product)


The Verdict :

Packaging

★ ★ ★

Pigmentation

★ ★ ★ ★

Longevity

★ ★ ★ ★

Overall

★ ★ ★ ★


Other Info :

◊ Price : I bought mine for RM 29 / $ 8 (depends on currency & availability – pre-orders are mostly cheaper than ready stock items)

◊ Availability : lagirlusa.com, drugstore.com (I got mine from @AliceandCloud from Instagram)

◊ Status : Permanent


xox ♥

Logo

2 thoughts on “REVIEW // LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Lip Gloss

Say hello! ... or something!

